Association of Canadian Port Authorities welcomes returning Chair

The Association of Canadian Port Authorities (ACPA) renewed the term of Mario Girard as board Chair. Girard, President and CEO of the Port of Quebec, was re-elected for a second term at the association’s Annual General Meeting September 7 in Thunder Bay, Ontario.

“I welcome this new mandate with the deep conviction that Canadian ports are more than ever called upon to play a key role for the prosperity of the Canadian economy. Our ability to further develop efficient port infrastructure is vital for our competitiveness in the global economy and we will continue to work tirelessly to consolidate our essential role in the Canadian supply chain,” said Girard.

Girard has been pivotal in leading the ongoing expansion of ACPA’s profile during his first term.

“With Mr. Girard’s leadership, the Association of Canadian Port Authorities is well positioned to lead in the critical policy discussions underway,” said Wendy Zatylny, President of ACPA. “Our members look forward to building the contribution of ACPAs to Canada’s sustainable, economic success.”

The ACPA board also re-elected Donna Taylor, President and CEO of the Port of Oshawa, as Vice Chair; and Sean Hanrahan, President and CEO of the Port of St. John’s, as Corporate Secretary/Treasurer for the coming year. Rounding out the complement of eight board members are newly elected Pacific region representative Zoran Knezevic (Port Alberni) and returning members Sylvie Vachon (Montreal), Don Krusel (Prince Rupert), Carl Laberge (Saguenay) and Robin Silvester (Vancouver).

Maritime Editorial