Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation selects port winners of 2018 season Pacesetter Award

The U.S. Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation (SLSDC) has selected eight U.S. ports in the Great Lakes/St. Lawrence Seaway system to receive the agency’s Robert J. Lewis Pacesetter Award for registering increases in international cargo tonnage shipped through their ports during the 2018 navigation season.

“The strong performance in 2018 of these St. Lawrence Seaway ports is very encouraging and reflects a strong and robust economy,” said U.S. Transportation Secretary Elaine L. Chao.

The eight ports earning the Pacesetter Award for 2018 are: the Duluth Seaway Port Authority (Minnesota), the Erie-Western Pennsylvania Port Authority, Port Milwaukee (Wisconsin), the Port of Monroe (Michigan), the Port of Muskegon (Michigan), the Ogdensburg Bridge and Port Authority (New York), the Port of Oswego (New York) and the Toledo-Lucas County Port Authority (Ohio).

“Congratulations to the eight Great Lakes ports being recognized as Pacesetter Award recipients for their achievements during the 2018 Seaway navigation season,” said SLSDC’s Deputy Administrator Craig H. Middlebrook. “The 2018 season saw the highest cargo tonnage in more than a decade. With nearly 41 million tons of cargo moved last year, representing a seven percent increase over the 2017 season, our ports are working harder than ever to handle more commerce safely and efficiently.”

Andrea Lee